Makeup and skincare that is actually worth the hype

Worth the hype 2.jpg

Let’s just admit it: us bloggers like a bit of hype. But with so many new releases and an abundance of overhyped products already existing in the beauty world, it can be difficult to know where to save and where to actually spend your money. Regardless of this, I do sometimes still buy into the hype and have tried my fair share of famous products that everyone just seems to love.

All in the name of research, of course.

While I know everyone has different preferences and needs when it comes to their beauty products (for example, not everyone shares my oily skin woes), I thought I’d still share my two cents on the ones I felt were worth the hype to help inform your purchasing decisions.

So, without further ado, let’s start with the Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel. This is a skincare product that probably needs no introduction, having appeared on the favourites list of many a beauty blogger. If you haven’t tried it for yourself, it’s a gel cleanser that turns into an oil, making it great for removing the last of your makeup. It’s also a really nice option for a second cleanse as it doesn’t foam or dry out your skin.

Now, it’s not be the cheapest, but I’ve found that nothing really compares in terms of both texture and ingredients (it contains vitamins A, C and E, as well as pumpkin enzymes to gently exfoliate).

While we’re discussing skincare, another product that exceeded my expectations is the Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado. This just works. I have (possibly) the driest under eyes known to man and find this really does help with my dehydration lines (which is something no other eye cream has done).

Though I love trying new skincare products, it’s makeup where I’ve found most of my ‘holy grails’ and one brand that often delivers when it comes to the hype is Nars. Hands down, my favourite product has to be the Radiant Creamy Concealer. This has a dryer texture than most other liquid concealers (so try it out in store if you’re on the dehydrated side), but I love that it has very high coverage.

I also recently purchased my first Nars Blush and I can see why so many people love them; it’s insanely pigmented. In fact, it’s hard not to go overboard when I apply this (I have the shade Lustre, which is a very warm peachy shade). Another product that packs a punch is the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed; the smallest amount is needed to add a lovely glow that isn’t too glittery. I think I’ll struggle to hit pan of both of these products, making them well worth the purchase for me!

Last but not least is a bit of a bit of a marmite product; Estee Lauder’s Double Wear. Although a lot of people find this to be too thick, I personally like the higher coverage for a night out. This foundation also has the best staying power out of all of the ones I’ve tried and I’ll only have a bit of a shiny t-zone after a 9-hour workday.

Which makeup and skincare products were worth the hype for you? Have you tried any of my picks?

11 thoughts on “Makeup and skincare that is actually worth the hype

Leave a Reply

