My 2016 beauty favourites: the best of makeup and skincare

2016 beauty favourites.jpg

For someone as indecisive as I am, choosing my 2016 beauty favourites turned out to be surprisingly easy.

Nonetheless, if you’d have asked me to do the same thing this time last year, I think I would have struggled a tad; and this is no surprise really as I still didn’t know how to balance my combination skin without drying it out, and my idea of an adventurous makeup look was a bit of neutral eyeshadow and some blusher.

Fortunately, I think I’m finally finding my feet with this whole applying-makeup-thing. I now know (for the most part) how to control my oily t-zone and dry chin, I’m a master of eyeshadow blending (well, nearly), and this is thanks to a number of products that I’ll happily sing the praises of.

Cue my 2016 beauty favourites… (be warned: it’s going to be a long one!)

Starting with skincare, there’s one product that I’d recommend time and time again; the Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel. As many have said before me, this is unlike most gel cleansers as it’s quite thick and turns into a light oil, making it a great option for all skin types. It’s also gently exfoliating thanks to its pumpkin enzymes. While we’re on the subject of cleansing, Garnier’s Micellar Cleansing Waters are another product I’ll always repurchase as they’re gentle, affordable and effective at removing makeup.

Now, let’s talk hydration. Although I am still on the hunt for the perfect moisturiser, I think I’ve found the oil for me. The Clarins Lotus Face Treatment Oil provides just the right amount of nourishment for my drier patches, while balancing my oiler areas and lessening oil production. It smells amazing as well; very herbal and spa-like. And when it comes to my under eyes? So far, nothing has helped with dehydration as much as Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado.

Last up in the skincare round-up is the Pixi Glow Tonic. This is an effective exfoliating toner that contains 5% glycolic acid, as well as soothing aloe vera and witch hazel (which is a good one for spots, just FYI). As my skin can get quite sensitive I only use this every other day, but I still find it brightens my skin and helps to keep it smooth and clear.

2016-beauty-favourites-2

Are you still with me? Good, because it’s time to move onto makeup… when it came to applying my base in 2016, there were two clear standouts; the Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra Cushion Foundation and the Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in-Place-Makeup. The former has pretty much been my daily go-to for the past few months as it’s really quick and easy to apply (I use the applicator it comes with) and provides a good medium coverage. The latter is the one I bring out for long days or nights out as it covers everything and is the only foundation that lasts for more than 3 or 4 hours on my t-zone. To set my foundation, I’ve also been loving the Soap and Glory One Heck of a Blot Powder as it’s very mattifying but not too heavy.

For me, 2016 was the year that I really begun to hone my eyeshadow application skills (next on the list? Liquid eyeliner). As well as being thanked by the discovery of the MAC 217 Blending Brush, I’ve also fallen for a few creamy eyeshadows that can be applied in around 5 minutes. These are the By Terry Ombre Blackstar in Misty Rock (a taupey, silvery purple), The Chanel Illusion D’Ombre in Mirage (a golden bronze) and the Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24HR Eyeshadow in Pink Gold. All of these are great shades for the lazy girl as the shimmer makes them multidimensional, meaning they can be easily worn on their own.

I won’t harp on about these too much as I’ve already mentioned them a few times, but the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils are definitely my favourite lipsticks. As I’ve said before, their shape makes application a whole lot easier, they last pretty well on the lips, and I’m convinced they have a red for everyone.

The Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks also come in a great shade range and I’ve loved Glastonbury from the Matte Revolution range; it’s a purpley-plum that leans a bit red on me, making it vampy but wearable. In terms of shades, another I fell in love with towards the end of the year was the MAC Viva Glam Lipstick in Ariana Grande II. It’s a hot orchid pink that instantly brightens up my face and I really like that it’s matte; these are the best of MAC’s lipstick formulas, in my opinion.

What were your favourite beauty products of 2016? Did we share any of the same favourites?

10 thoughts on “My 2016 beauty favourites: the best of makeup and skincare

  1. Ah you have some fab favourites, some of mine are in there and there are plenty on my wish list! I actually went to go get Double Wear today as I haven’t used it in like four years! Sadly they were out of stock of my shade but I did get a sample so can’t wait to try it again!

    The Makeup Directory

    Like

Leave a Reply

