Product round-up: moisturisers for combination skin (featuring Kiehl’s and Origins)

3 moisturisers for combination skin

With such a wide variety of brands and products all promising big things, finding the right moisturiser (or even skincare routine) can be a minefield for most people. When you have combination skin, however? This can feel like an almost impossible task.

Not only do you need something that sinks in quickly and doesn’t aggregate your oily patches, but you also need something hydrating, but not too rich; otherwise, say hello to your new clogged pores. Yet with most products being aimed at either dry or oily skin, it can be hard to strike the right balance, which is something I’ve found as my skin has gradually become less oily over the year.

Luckily (for you, not my bank account) I’m a bit of a moisturiser fiend, and I’ve tried quite a few of them. So, with that in mind, here’s my round-up of the best moisturisers for combination skin…

The Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturiser is my current daytime moisturiser of choice, and it’s one of the only ones I’ve ever repurchased. As well as smelling like oranges (which isn’t important, but it still it makes it nicer to chuck on your face each morning), it’s great for wearing under makeup. It doesn’t ball up, it doesn’t leave your face tacky or sticky; its thick formula just leaves it feeling smooth and hydrated.

If I had to choose just one of these moisturisers for the warmer months, this would be it.

Kiehl’s is one of my favourite skincare brands, which is why my next two picks are from them. Starting with the thicker of the two, the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream is more like your traditional cream moisturiser (as the name suggests), yet it doesn’t come with the same heaviness. Again, this sinks in fairly quickly, although it adds a touch more hydration than GinZing. However, this would be my Autumn/Winter pick as it was a bit too heavy when my skin used to be oilier.

If my skin is feeling angry, then the Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer is the one I always go to. Aimed at sensitive skin, it contains Rosa Gallica and Chamomile to sooth irritation, while the light lotion-like texture hydrates without leaving you feeling greasy. A great pick for both day and night, as well as all seasons.

Have you tried any of these moisturisers? Which is your favourite and why?

6 thoughts on “Product round-up: moisturisers for combination skin (featuring Kiehl’s and Origins)

Leave a Reply

